Saturday, July 23, 2016

Ep 31 - Extra 2: Videos of Faculty Lounge

"Funkin' up Des Moines since 2000!

"Faculty Lounge started on Beggar's Night in the fall of 2000, with founding member David Maxwell's decision to pick up the bass. From there, he, drummer Mark Stallman and guitarist Timm Pilcher set the groove that would later become Des Moines' premier ten-piece, horn-driven, all-teacher, multi-hyphenated old-school funk machine!

"And now ...

"Faculty Lounge quickly became a local favorite, winning the Polk City Battle of the Bands on their first outing. Since then, they have been featured at the Des Moines Arts Fest, Valley Junction Farmers Market, Ingersoll LIVE!, the Cedar Rapids Freedom Fest Balloon Glow and numerous other venues. They have received extensive coverage in the Des Moines Register, Cityview, Juice and Datebook, and were named as one of Des Moines best bands in Cityview's Best Of Des Moines. Former Iowa Governor Chet Culver named them "The Official Funk Band of Iowa", and they have been featured in an award-winning 4 1/2-minute piece on WHO Channel 13, Faculty Lounge is Des Moines' premier ten-piece, horn-driven, all-teacher, multi-hyphenated old school funk machine!

"They have played for tens of thousands, including Barack Obama and Oprah Winfrey, opened for George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic, and continue to TEACH you how to get down!"
- from their home page

Dana Andrews - Trumpet, guitar, keyboards, flute, soprano saxophone, jug, vocals
Anna Lee - Trombone, keyboards, vocals
David Maxwell - Bass, vocals
Shawn McFarland - Sound
Timm Pilcher - Guitar, vocals
Aaron Smith - Lead vocals
Mark Stallman - Drums
Kelli Stoa - Saxophone, keyboards, vocals
Joanne Tubbs - Trumpet, keyboards, vocals
Ryan Williamson - Lead vocals, congas

Hone page:


Labels: ,,

No comments:

Popular Posts of the last 7 days

Popular Posts of last 30 days

Popular Posts of Past 365 Days

Most Popular Posts of All