Sunday, February 15, 2015

Ep 4 - Song 1: "Day Late $hort" by HeavyWeight

"Hailing from the small overlooked town of Muscatine, IA, HeavyWeight started out as just a means for 5 guys to play music while holding down the basic adult juggling act of family and work.  With musical backgrounds ranging from doom style rock/ metal to the fast paced hardcore style, HeavyWeight molds all these sounds into one solid monster wall of sound.

"Expect nothing less from HeavyWeight then a high energy show and a loud ringing in your ears when it's over."Mat
- from their website

Matt Parrott - Guitar
Jason Wieskamp - Guitar
Sam Koester - Drums
Scott Moomey - Bass
Nathan Regennitter - Vocals

Ep 4 - Song 2: "The Mirror Never Lies" by Unity

"Unity is a Melodic Power metal band from Iowa.  It was formed in November 2010 by Alonso “Zo” Donoso.  Alonso decides to leave his previous band and start a new musical project.  Zo’s idea was to create music that was more European oriented and Melodic, yet powerful and raw.

"Unity’s music could be described as Melodic Heavy Metal with European Power Metal influences. Unity takes influences from different bands and backgrounds to create something fresh but yet classic with catchy riffs and powerful melodies."
- from their website

Alonso “Zo” Donoso - Vocals
Tim Cummings - Drums
Adam Amdor - Bass/Backing vocals
Yasko Kajtazovic - Lead Guitars/Backing vocals

Ep 4 - Song 3: "Triplets (demo)" by Arent We All

"Founded by Des Moines based musicians & long time collaborators; Ben Shields, HorHey Pachelli and Mark Boals. Mike Farrell joined the band on vocals in 2010 after a tour of duty in Iraq, and Arent We All spent the next two years writing music. Finally making their debut in 2012 in Des Moines at The House of Bricks.

"Drawing influences from all the different genres of music that have influenced them throughtout the years. Arent We All strives to employ a unique sound implementing powerful drumming, unique bass riffs, and haunting guitar to bring this band together.

"Come see a show, listen to the music, watch the video, we dont care. Love us, hate us, tolerate us, doesnt matter. Just enjoy whatever music you want to enjoy, we just hope you enjoy ours."
- from their ReverbNation page

Mark Boals- Drums
Ben Shields- Guitar/vocals
Mike Feral- Vocals
HorHey Pachelli- Bass/ Vocals



Ep 4 - Song 4: "Mirrors (demo)" by The Point Past Insanity

"The Point Past Insanity originates out of Iowa & is a metal-core band that is still pretty fresh in the scene.They do however have an EP almost finished. They are heavily influenced by Oh Sleeper, The Haunted, and The Color Morale. They are pretty chill guys, catch them in town someday for an ecstatic performance!"
- Sophia Marie Wheeler - One Zine,One Love.

Stephen VanPoortFliet - Lead Vocals
Michael Fleming-Wiegand - Rhythm Guitar
Austin Bemisdarfer - Lead Guitar
Sloan Janssen - Drums
Nick Jordan -Bass

Ep 4 - Song 5: "Angel on Sunday" by Lakeshore

"Lakeshore is a four-piece new age music group with primarily rock/post-hardcore influences."
- from their website

Their influences include Blessthefall, Memphis May Fire, Hands Like Houses, Atreyu, Avenged Sevenfold, A Day to Remember, Bullet For My Valentine, I See Stars, and many more.

Spencer Cole – Drums/Vocals
Brice Berger – Lead Guitar
Taylor Davis – Bass
Luke McMichael – Vocals/Guitar

Sunday, February 1, 2015

EPISODE 3: The Hip-Hop of Media Fresh Entertainment

This episode, we are spotlighting the hip-hop of Des Moines' Media Fresh Entertainment. This young group of talented individuals opened up for the 2014 Gross Domestic Product and took the crowd by a storm.

"While several local acts put on great shows, Media Fresh’s performance at Wooly’s blew me away. All members in at least one article of black clothing, looking uniform but not too matchy-matchy, this group of young rappers (some of whom are reportedly still in high school) brought more energy than any other group I saw. With one DJ and anywhere from 3-8 other group members onstage they created a Wu-Tang/Odd Future vibe. They had all the rap skills and precision one hopes to see from an emerging hip-hop collective coupled with the unpredictable, vivacious stage presence of OF. At one point several Media Fresh members joined the audience, dancing with the crowd while cheering on the members that remained onstage. With sick rhymes and dope beats the raw talent of the group was undeniable."
- Cady Colosimo from Band Bombshell

If you want to know about the song or the artist, just click on the name...

Opening - Iowa Music Showcase opening by Dylan Boyle
Song 1 - "Counter Culture" by MarKaus
Song 2 - "Nothing to It" by Breazy Low
Song 3 - "June Dreams" by KIDD
Song 4 - "Ignorant Shit" by Tempest Musik
Song 6 - "Lifestyle Choice" by Top Flight feat MarKaus and Breazy Low
Song 7 - "Man with a Gun" by MarKaus
Closing - Iowa Music Showcase closing by Dylan Boyle

All rights reserved by the composers and performers. Used by their kind permission.

To download:

Next episode: Iowa metal music! Yeah!

Iowa Music Showcase can be listened to and/or downloaded on the following sites:
Home page: 
Other websites:
Spotify profile:
Spotify playlist:

Labels: ,

Popular Posts of the last 7 days

Popular Posts of last 30 days

Popular Posts of Past 365 Days

Most Popular Posts of All